Cabongaoan + Death pool

Another beach in Pangasinan was checked out of my bucketlist. I am with my friend, Nikko. Together we have joined the group of Mr.Adam Avellano as joiners of his event.(The original plan was to go to Laki beach in Bataan but for some valid reason we had to go for plan B.) BTW, thanks sir for organizing the trip.

 

 
We had a little delay in the first part of our trip so we arrive at Cabongaoan at around 8am. The sun was already up and we didn’t feel like dipping in the waters rightaway so Nikko and I decided to see the death pool out of curiosity. It is actually far from sight though we could see crowded area from the shore where our cottage is located. However, as we continued our trip through out the day, this place did not disappoint us.
At first, we thought it was just this,Sand,shore and rocks.. Little did we know that we still have to trek limestones and sharp rocks (just like the ones you see in pamitinan and binacayan if you already been there).

.We came there unprepared.My legs and feet were unprotected that time. (Usually, when I hike, i see to it that I won’t get wounded by wearing gloves, shoes, warmers,etc)But we managed to go there by foot alive and kicking.There are also boats that can take you there if you want to be hassle-free.It costs 💯 per person for round trip.

 

img_3939

This are some of the limestones you have to pass through.

img_3958-2

This is my friend, Nikko!

Heads up for those who will go there,you must be extra careful.Have some proper footwear if you do not want to get wounded. I had some abrasions in my right foot.

img_4214-1

That water area behind me is just ankle deep. The depth depends on the tide:)


It was a gift hidden from big stones.The more you walk farther,the more you’ll get surprised as  the sceneries unravels its beauty.

img_4206-1

can you see that shoreline at that topmost part of this pic? That is where we came from. We walked far from that,and take note we did not stop here.

 

 

In order to get down there,

you need to go down through this rocky “staircase”.

 

img_4045

By the way, this is Michael. We met him here for the first time. He joined me and nikko.

So

i  was able to reach this,

img_4038

So, I managed to get down there. That dark water area is very deep. I did not try because I got a bit scared of the waves haha

img_4010

Good thing, he wasbrave enough to try it.He said it was deep.

img_4158

Apparently,this area has  the same plane with  the death pool.

 

I preferred staying in this  mini version because the main death pool was crowded.

img_4120

img_4111

I am alone here so i don’t have to compete with them.

img_4117

I enjoyed the water moving in and out of this.

img_4127

Look how dark that is.that means it is deep:)

 

Now, the main death pool…

I am a little afraid that if i go here, i wont be able to hold on ttthe sides because of people sitting and wading in the waters .

img_7058

I told you there are many people:))

 

 


After this,we went back for lunch.We just followed the same trail .

 

LUNCH YUMMERS

Going back to our cottage.

img_4228

With Nikko, me and Michael.

img_4227

The food prepared by our organizer, Mr. Adam. I think it was more than enough considering that our group composed of 3 vans.Some were able to have double rounds(but not me.haha)

 

img_4232

They served inihaw bangus, squid, and liempo…There was also rice

 

While waiting for lunch, we Tried the mango shake in a local store near our cottage.

Here is the list of the food that they offer..

img_7066-1

I wish my “burger is with me”Haha

img_4224

NIkko’s Hayahay life:))

img_4223

His view while he was lying like that.

 

LOVE IS SWEETER THE SECOND TIME AROUND

After lunch,we were able to talk to some of our co-joiners.Of course,we had some small get-to know each other phase. Then,altogether, we decided to tour back on the rocky area. They said they would show us more since they have walked further enough. It was probably 2pm that time. To maximize the time left, we chose to rent a boat which cost 75php/pax. (orig:100phpRT)

img_4329

Off we go!!

Even though, it is the first time we met each other. I felt the warmth of friendship! Chos!!haha. Well, honestly, I did not expect them to be that accomodating. They toured us into the place because they had been earlier that morning. They even looked over our things in the nipa hut (when we went there to hide from the rain) just so we could play and dip in the lagoon/pool. In short,they have made the trip more fun!

img_4324

Left to Right: Nikko, me, michael, Labs, Alex, Rey and Jace. Photo credits:Jan Vincent Labrador

 

 

img_4323

Ready for adventures with this funny, kind-hearted  gang!yes!                                                 Photo credits:Jan Vincent Labrador

 

Beyond this is another dimension where only a few people would go.


img_4275

This small cave is one of what they have discovered.

img_4326

We all fit in this cave:))They said the water here was higher the first time they went here. Photo credits:jan Vincent Labrador

img_4347

We walked further and found thispool/lagoon. Looks nice:))I cannot let the time pass without me hopping in.:) Thanks Lab for this pic.

img_4348

While it was stilll showering:)

img_4361

This is the other view. Sorry for the blurred pic. I could not use my phone because it was showering.That is the lagoon/pool.

 

img_4360

View if you are in the lagoon/pool.

If you go beyond the area where the pool/ lagoon was located, you can see this.  It was a bit “buwis-buhay”(term we use or risky) to go here because before you can go here you have to climb sharp rocks(the same as pamitinan) We did not spend too much time here because it rained.


We were not able to take many pictures becauae as you can see at the back,the sky was already dark and we  have non-water-resistant phones and gadgets. Thanks Lab for keeping my phone

Aside from that, it is a worrisome fact the  water level might rise  and we would be stranded,or worse  be  dragged away by the waves

Their pictures earlier when the water level was still high(photos by jay labrador).

They call it “Rock bar”

 

Second time around.Thanks for touring us guys!lol!It was actually fun to be with you. Because of our exploration the day became more fulfilling and enjoyable.

img_4331

Can you see the dark sky?haha.I told you we really had to go back as soon as posible.

 

I think it was already 430pm when we went back.

img_4328

Thanks for adopting us:)

img_4327

Photo Credits:Michael

Sometimes, you really have to go beyond what is common and see things further.

watch the video here

We were able to see this majestic view of the sunset on our way home.

 

It was indeed a fun-filled day! Good thing, the van they hired had the same route with us so Mr.Adam just picked and dropped us near our place. Super thanks for the convenience,sir. He also gave us a bag tag as a souvenir. It is just that “Laki beach” was written on it since that was plan A.If time permits, I will go there next time. HAhaha..

 

So yeah,.Til next adventure guys.Hope you had fun as well while reading this.

img_4354-1

Thanks again,Labs, for this pic:))

Leave a comment